Summer is almost gone

The cooler days and nights are certainly welcome. It was a busy summer and I already miss sleeping in a bit longer, and being able to head to the mountains spontaneously, well almost. In addition to our annual bike tour, there was lots of riding, both on the road and in the mountains, exploring the dirt roads out in the Tintic Mountains near Eureka on my cyclocross bike, one son graduated from high school and another got married; we went back to the Uintas for some more backpacking and fishing, several other fly fishing trips, breakfast on the patio in the backyard, writing sessions on the back patio, and my youngest son’s first high school mountain bike race. Below is a smattering of photos from this past summer.

Cedar Valley, just north of the Tintic Mountains
Cedar Valley, just north of the Tintic Mountains
Exploring Chiulos Canyon on my cyclocross bike.
Exploring Chiulos Canyon on my cyclocross bike.
Dean end after 1300' of climbing. I was looking to get over the mountains to the Eureka side via Chiulos Canyon.
Dead end after 1300′ of climbing. I was looking to get over the mountains to the Eureka side via Chiulos Canyon.
Finn's high school gaduation
Finn’s high school graduation
My friend Kai, fishing a local stream
My friend Kai, fishing a local stream
And catching fish.
And catching fish.
Me, fishing some local water with my tenkara outfit
Me, fishing some local water with my tenkara outfit
Catching trout on my favorite fly pattern, the Utah Killer Bug
Catching trout on my favorite fly pattern, the Utah Killer Bug
After a good afternoon of fishing, the walk down canyon back to the car
After a good afternoon of fishing, the walk down canyon back to the car
Breakfast on the back patio for my daughter Natalie's birthday
Breakfast on the back patio for my daughter Natalie’s birthday
Baked eggs, homemade lemon buttermilk muffins, and yogurt
Baked eggs, homemade lemon buttermilk muffins, and yogurt
A writing session on the back patio
A writing session on the back patio
My son Niels and his new bride, Bekah.
My son Niels and his new bride, Bekah.
Hiking along the East Fork of the Bear River in the Uintas
Hiking along the East Fork of the Bear River in the Uintas
Camp at Allsop Lake
Camp at Allsop Lake
My son Kai, back in the mountains after spending most of the summer in the Dominican Republic
My son Kai, back in the mountains after spending most of the summer in the Dominican Republic
Headwaters of the Left Fork of the East Fork of the Bear River
Headwaters of the Left Fork of the East Fork of the Bear River
Fishing a small steam in the Uintas
Fishing a small steam in the Uintas
The reluctant hike out
The reluctant hike out
Lars in his first high school mountain bike race at Soldier Hollow
Lars in his first high school mountain bike race at Soldier Hollow

 

Leave a Reply

