A Short Escape to the High Uintas

A lake on the North slope of the High Uintas.
A lake on the North slope of the High Uintas.

Sometimes you just have to get away. Life can get pretty hectic and the mountains are my balm. A couple weeks ago, all my kids were occupied or out of town, so I took off alone on a Thursday morning and headed up the Mirror Lake Highway. I was headed for a trailhead on the North side of the High Uintas mountain range. I began hiking around noon and within a quarter mile I took a wrong turn and headed up a rather steep trail climbing to a saddle. After about a mile I figured I was off track and turned around. The views from this trail were pretty spectacular. I could see into the drainage where I was supposed to be headed. So I went an hour out of my way. But I was in no hurry and being alone, there was no one to complain, wait for, or consult with. Sometimes being alone is so liberating.

The river valley I hiked up on the left.
The river valley where I should have been heading in the center of the photo.

I was alone on the trail; in fact, I didn’t see another person for hours, just as I had hoped. It was a beautiful trail along the East Fork of the Bear River. After a couple miles I passed the remains of an old cabin.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

After four miles the trail entered the Wilderness Area. A mile or two past that the trail splits, the left branch climbing up a few switchbacks before entering a beautiful river valley. The trail continued climbing through alternating woods and open marshy meadows. Everything was deep green and the river was never very far from the trail and I was at peace. I could feel the stress and tension easing off as I hiked. I was not sure how far my destination, the lake, was, but it turned out to be quite a bit farther than I anticipated.

The trail up the valley.
The trail up the valley.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

After about 9 uphill miles I finally arrived at the lake and I was pretty tired. The lake sits at the end of the valley in a high alpine cirque surrounded by forested slopes and high cliffs. If I had more time and energy I would have loved to climb to the ridge and explore, and take a peek into the next drainage.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Allsop Lake in the High Uintas.

I set up camp, which is a pretty simple affair—set up my Duomid tent (a floorless half pyramid), rolled our my pad and sleeping bag, and unpacked the rest of my few things.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I then rigged up my fly rod. These days I am using a tenkara style rod that my friend and colleague bought for me in Japan. It is a Nissin Prosquare, 320 length (about 8 1/2 feet), so quite short for this kind of rod. For those who are not familiar with tenkara fishing, it is a simple rod to which you attach a short line and leader, about the same length as the rod. That’s it. No reel or anything else to mess with. It is ideal for small mountain streams. I had heard from another colleague that the fishing was good here. And I was not disappointed. Within two or three casts I had hooked my first cutthroat trout. After an hour and a half I had hooked quite a few brook and cutthroat trout. It was great fun and I was really enjoying the solitude and the spectacular scenery. I used a fly pattern called a Utah Killer Bug which I had tied myself. They proved to be very effective.

One of many trout caught.
One of many trout caught.

As I was heading back to camp I ran into a young guy just arriving at the lake. He was one of five kids that hiked in for a couple days. We chatted for a bit as he waited for his friends. I went back to my camp to cook dinner. I usually eat pretty simply in the mountains, things that usually involve just adding water, like mashed potatoes, couscous, and things like that. I also built a small fire. Being alone can be great therapy. It gives you lots of time to think without any distractions. As much as I love being in the outdoors with my kids, sometimes getting out alone is just what I need to decompress and recharge. If you have the skills and experience in the outdoors I highly recommend an occasional solo trip.

I enjoyed a quite evening by the fire, just thinking, reading a little poetry, and writing a bit in my small travel journal.

The next morning, after a quick breakfast of half a bagel and some dried fruit, I rigged up and headed back to the small outlet stream that I had fished the night before. The fishing was fast and I caught more than I did the night before. I was surprised at the size of some of the fish, up to 16-18″, for such a small stream, only about 3-8′ wide. I thoroughly enjoyed the fishing and wandering around. I had to get back for something that evening, so I couldn’t stay as long as I wanted; I had a good 4 hour hike, then a 2 hour drive home. While hiking out, only about 2 miles from the lake, I couldn’t resist a section of the stream winding through a meadow. So I headed down, and caught another nice fish on the first cast. I limited myself to a half hour, but still caught 7-8 fish.

Stream winding through a high mountain meadow.
Stream winding through a high mountain meadow.

This was a part of the Uintas I had not been to before, and it was really beautiful, as pretty as any scenery I have seen in this mountain range, and prettier than most areas. It is a place I would like to return to, this time with some of my kids.

 

2 thoughts on “A Short Escape to the High Uintas

  1. Thanks for this post. I’m heading up to the Uintah’s as soon as the snow melts, and I’m debating taking a western-style rod and reel or a tenkara style rod. You just convinced me!

Leave a Reply

