Surly Pugsley Mods

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

After getting my new Surly Puglsey I wanted to personalize it a bit. That’s always a fun thing to do when getting a new bike. Part of this is just aesthetic, but part is practical as well. For example, I have Brooks saddles on two of my other bikes and I love them. The Pugsley came with a pretty standard, padded skinny seat. I gave it a try on a couple rides. Nothing doing. I then tried a saddle from my old mountain bike. Better, but still not that comfortable. I then swiped the Brooks B17 from my commuter bike. Now we’re talking. I guess I have just come to really like and appreciate a good leather saddle. So I put the original Pugsley saddle on my commuter thinking that would do. One day commuting and there was no way that was going to work. Even though my commute is only 3 miles, I do use my bike to run errands around town and this saddle was just not comfortable. So, I decided I had to have another Brooks B17 for the Pugsley. So my black B17 went back on the commuter and I bought a B17 Special with the copper rivets. I was fine with the regular B17, but the bike shop (Saturday Cycles in SLC, no affiliation) was out of stock. But they had a B17 Special and Mark, the owner, gave me a really good deal on it. It is the antique brown color.

Brooks B17 Special saddle and brown Specialized grips
Brooks B17 Special saddle and brown Specialized grips

I also wanted a more cushioned, ergonomic hand grip. I had decided to do white accents on the bike to tie into the white lettering on the frame, but white hand grips get dirty really fast and turn gray. So I decided on brown to match the saddle. They are Specialized Body Geometry Contour grips and they are really comfortable.

Odyssey Trail Mix pedals
Odyssey Trail Mix pedals
Bontrager bottle cages
Bontrager bottle cages

 

White bottle cages, white Odyssey Trail Mix BMX style platform pedals with removable studs, and white rim strips for the Marge Lite rims.

White rim strips on the Marge Lite rims
White rim strips on the Marge Lite rims

The stock tires are the Surly Nate which have really aggressive lugs. Maybe not the fastest tire around, but excellent traction.

Surly Nate tires
Surly Nate tires

And finally, super simple thumb shifters, just like on my 1989 Specialized Stumpjumper. I’m really liking the blue paint job.

Microshift thumb shifters
Microshift thumb shifters

DSCN3913

 

 

Leave a Reply

